The Centre for Gender Studies and Advocacy functions via six programme areas:


The Policy unit within CEGENSA was established to carry out the following:

  • Formulate policies on gender within the University to create a conducive learning and working environment that ensures respect for the dignity and human rights of all the members of the University community.
  • Review existing policy documents of the University and the functioning of University boards and committees
  • Consultations with University administrators, faculty, staff and students

Read more...

Curriculum Development

The struggles for social equality between men and women remain an area of continuing relevance to any quest for a holistic understanding of economy, society, culture and politics in contemporary Africa - as, indeed, in every other region of the world. Yet, the general, instinctive but misleading assumption has persisted, even in otherwise knowledgeable circles, that any reference to gender is little more than a code word for raising narrow, even parochial concerns that are specific to the interests of women. In a bid to correct this erroneous instinct and, in so doing, open

Read more...

Extension and Advocacy

The Extension and Advocacy committee was established to carry out the following:

Develop and organize student outreach programmes on issues of gender, particularly as it relates to their unique situation as young people located in an academic environment.

  • Network and collaborate with Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), District Assemblies and NGOs to share information and work on issues of common interest.

Read more...

Research and Documentation

The Research and Documentation unit within CEGENSA was established to carry out the following:

  • Establish a well-equipped resource unit to support faculty and students with their teaching and learning needs.
  • Provide current books, journals, films and other audio-visual materials and on-line resources to enhance the quality of academic work produced at the University.
  • Compile and make available small grant applications to female graduate students and female faculty members to enhance graduate students' access to small grant applications for research and theses production and female faculty members' access to research grants.

Read more...

Sexual Assault & Counselling

Committee Members:
Prof. Agnes Simpson Budu - Chairperson
Prof. Akosua Adomako Ampofo
Mrs. Fedilia Ohemeng
Rev. Dr. M.P.K. Okyerefo
Mr. John Gordon Egyir-Croffet
Dr. Awo Asiedu
Dr. Akosua Darkwa
Ms. Peace Mamle Tetteh

If you would like to learn more about this committee or any other, please contact us, or visit our office.

Mentoring and Professional Development

Committee Members:
Rev. Dr. M.P.K Okyerefo - Chairperson
Prof. Adomako Ampofo
Dr. Esther Sakyi- Dawson
Ms. Ama Dadson
Dr. Awo Mana Asiedu
Dr. Nana Aba Amfo
If you would like to learn more about this committee or others, please contact us, or visit our office.