Skip to main content


The Policy Committee of the Centre primarily engages in policy formulation on gender issues within the University to create a dignified and human-centered environment for all the members of the University community. The Policy Committee is also responsible for developing programmes geared towards strengthening the policy bases for gender equity at the University of Ghana.

Committee Members

Prof. Esther Sakyi-Dawson
Dr. Gloria Ivy Mensah
Dr. Mabel Oti-Boadi
Dr. Phyllis Bernice Kwartey Donkor
Dr. Enid Owusu
Dr. Fidelia Ohemeng
Dr. Adriana Andrea Biney


This Committee specifically assists in the development of relevant courses on gender across the University of Ghana and works with faculty across state universities to develop a university-wide introductory course on gender as agreed by the Vice-Chancellors of Ghana in a communique in 2005. The Committee is also charged with undertaking capacity building for faculty, policymakers, and gender practitioners.

Committee Members

Prof. Irene Kretchy
Prof. Nana Akua Anyidoho
Dr. Hasiyatu Abubakari
Dr. Sylvia Esther Gyan
Dr. Florence Christianah Awoniyi
Dr. Kwaku Darko Amposah
Dr.  Donatus Yaw Atiglo
Dr. Joyce Senya Ama Anku
Dr. Nana Amm Asante-Poku
Ms. Priscilla Yeye Adumoah Attafuah


The Mentoring and Professional Development Committee oversees the mentorship programme of CEGENSA. The mentorship programme is designed to facilitate interactions between senior and junior faculty affiliates of the Centre who have been divided into mentors and mentees. The goal of the mentorship programme is to help mentees in navigating life as early career faculty at University of Ghana. The mentees and mentors are to give feedback to the Committee every month through a Google form. The feedback helps the Committee to restructure its programs.

Committee Members

Dr. Paulina Tindana
Ms. Iddrisu Merri
Dr. Doris Akyere Boateng
Dr. Daniel Adu Ankrah
Dr. Cyrelene Amoah Boampong
Ms. Adubea Jennifer Hall
Dr. Geraldine Asiwome Ampah
Prof. Dorcas Osei-Sarfo
Dr. Lily Kpobi

The Committee generates mutually beneficial linkages with other relevant organizations, nationally and internationally, and seeks to identify state, private/ corporate, and civil society entities with whom CEGENSA must establish linkages; linkages with other public/private educational institutions within Ghana, Africa, and beyond on gender issues; Provide extension work on gender issues in Ghana and beyond and provide cutting edge consultancy services on gender issues to a wide range of clientele

Committee Members

Prof. Akosua Adomako Ampofo
Dr. Abena Kyere
Dr. Eunice Abbey
Ms. Joyce B.P Pwavra
Dr. Delali A. Dovie
Dr. Nii Londgon Odame
Dr. Vyda Mamley Hervie
Mr. Okyere Senyo